Hitchens 1, McGrath -27

I finally got around to watching Christopher Hitchens hand Alister McGrath his arse in this debate. Watching McGrath try to protect religion (particularly the Christian variety) from Hitchens was almost embarrassing. I kept cringing the way I do when David Brent makes some gaffe in The Office.

Shorter McGrath: “It (Christianity)’s all open to interpretation”

When McGrath said that he viewed his religion as something which had been offered to him and he had a choice to accept it, I thought to myself “Buckle-up!” Hitchens pointed out that this “choice” was 1) Accept it OR 2) Don’t accept it and burn in hell for all eternity. Hitchens made short work of many (all) of McGrath’s apologetics for religion, and he brought up a lot of points devastating to not only Christianity but all monotheisms and now I’m quite tempted to buy his book.

When I get around to it I’ll watch his debate with Dinesh D’Souza in which, according to several commentators at RichardDawkins.net, he isn’t at his very best. I’m sure it’s sill worth the time however.

~ by Sammy Jankis on November 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
