Muehlenberg takes ball, goes home. (Updated)

I managed to get some comments posted at Bill Muehlenberg’s CultureWatch website the other day. One in the comments thread of this article regarding self-esteem (which I’d blogged about earlier), and one following a glowing review of Dinesh D’Souza’s What’s so great about Christianity.

I was quite surprised to see them approved, given Bill’s comments policy:

  1. I reserve the right to edit or refuse comments.
  2. This site is meant to express my point of view. If you are looking for a soapbox to promote your own views, create your own website or blog site.

In other words the comments section is primarily reserved for people who praise Bill’s work.

Bill responded with a childish spray of strawman arguments couched in logical fallacies. Heres a small extract from the self-esteem thread:

And of course it is not the lack of evidence that is keeping you from abandoning atheism. It is your closed mind and pre-commitment to philosophical materialism that prevents you from even admitting that there might be a bit more to truth and reality out there than what you have thus far experienced and/or explored. An atheist is at heart guilty of the most crass arrogance, insisting that he or she has total knowledge of all things, and can therefore claim with complete certainly that there is no God.

It is a good thing that not all atheists are so bigoted and narrow-minded. When the leading atheist in the world Antony Flew left his atheism for theism several years ago…

Name me one atheist who insists that he or she has total knowledge of all things.

And this from his book review on What’s so great about Christianity:

As I mention in my blogging rules, those with their own websites are free to push their agendas there. Yet since your comment is a good example of the illogic and fuzzy thinking that is so often found among atheists these days, I will allow it to go through.

Indeed, your basic lapses in elementary logical thinking are quite alarming…

And there are plenty of people who evidently can’t determine that rape, murder and theft are wrong. Consider especially atheists such as Hitler, Stalin and Mao…

Tired old clichés about Stalin. Assertions that non-believers can’t find reasons to criticize Hitler. Religious apologist trump cards of the “God is perfect” and “God is morality” variety. That’s what passes for debate at Bill Muehlenberg’s CultureWatch.

I’ve responded to both of his hissy-fits, but strangely enough my comments haven’t survived moderation. Bill did allow this comment from one contributor through however:

Bill, I don’t want to add to the discussion, except to say that I applaud your gift of clear thinking and forceful argumentation, coupled with the grace with which you deliver it…

I pointed out to Bill in my response that if he can’t be bothered responding to my challenges that perhaps he’d like to allow his avid fans the opportunity to do so. But he’s clearly not interested.

**I’ll happily delete this post if Bill grows up and posts my comments, but I’m not holding my breath**  **Actually, following AV’s advice, no I wont**

 UPDATE:  More discussion over Bill’s blog can be found at unBelief.

~ by Sammy Jankis on November 20, 2007.

3 Responses to “Muehlenberg takes ball, goes home. (Updated)”

  1. I say leave the post where it is. One of the hallmarks of rational argumentation is that one refrain from strawman arguments and other fallacies–and Bill has responded to you with strawman after strawman.

    An even more basic criterion of rational debate is that one is at least prepared to listen to the opposing argument. Bill’s comments policy demonstrates that he is simply not interested in rational debate.

  2. Indeed, Bill’s comments policy speaks volumes about the authoritarian and dogmatic mindset of the fundamentalist. Where others are adult enough to confront ideas with which they disagree, Bill’s there, wrapped in the cotton-wool of his own woolly thinking, with his fingers firmly planted in his ears.

  3. I say leave the post where it is…

    Yeah, good point. He hasn’t published my posts but even if he does I’ll leave this post as it is.

Leave a Reply

 
