(Belated) Merry Christmas

Hope you had a good one.  I was in Cardiff.  Not a bad place really, despite what people had told us.  Not many places were open for Xmas lunch, so we stocked up on grub the day before and had ourselves a feast at the hostel.

I look forward to next Christmas though, because I’ll be back home…

Christmas is almost always at my folks house every year.  You pretty much wake to the sound of a beer can opening.  Ok, that’s an exaggeration,  but at about 10am the old man points out to my uncle, cousins and I that in the east they’ve probably had their first beer by then so what are we sitting around with glasses of orange juice for?

Breakfast doesn’t exist on Xmas day in our household.  Given that Mum starts shopping for Xmas food weeks in advance you can be sure that you’ll probably be reasonably well fed at lunch time.  After presents have been opened it’s time to start the weber.  This is a job for most of the males present because not only do the heat beads have to be put inside the weber, they have to be lit too.

While Mum’s and aunties get cracking in the kitchen tables and chairs (of greatly varying heights) are assembled into a large dining area.  Little space is left in the dining area so it’s best to go to the loo before you sit down to eat because if you need to go mid-lunch the logistics involved is too much.  During this time an annoying Xmas CD has probably found its way into the CD player.  You know, the ones where the singing of words is replaced with an oboe or something?

Everyone sits down for lunch at about 12:30ish.  Those Xmas cracker things get torn open and small plastic toys fly everywhere.  The two people who haven’t put on their ‘Xmas hat’ that came out of the cracker get told off for not being ‘in the Xmas spirit’.  We tell the hilarious jokes.  After some roast pork and turkey, ham, potato salad, green salad, roasted potatoes, cauliflower cheese, gravy and various other trimmings it’s time to devour some trifle before dragging your bloated stomach into the swimming pool to float about for an hour or so.

Then it’s time for a nap.

Night time involves a bit of cleaning up and an attempt to stuff enough food to feed a starving African nation into the fridge for leftover lunches for weeks to come.  I normally help myself to a bit more Xmas ham for dinner.

And that’s pretty much Xmas at my house.  I’ve missed it it these past 3 years away, so Xmas 2008 is going to be an absolute ripper.

~ by Sammy Jankis on December 27, 2007.

3 Responses to “(Belated) Merry Christmas”

  1. Nice post, I add blog to my RSS.

  2. I blog quite often and I really thank you for your
    information. This article has really peaked my interest.

    I am going to book mark your website and keep checking for new information about once per week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  3. It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before end I am reading this
    great article to improve my experience.

Leave a Reply

 
