Yanked out of Yankee Stadium

New York police officers pinned a man’s arm behind his back and ejected him from Yankee Stadium on Tuesday evening. Perhaps you’re thinking “Well he probably deserved it. No doubt he was drunk, disturbing other spectators and generally causing trouble.”

Guess again:

The incident began during the patriotic 7th inning stretch at Yankee Stadium, when nature called on Bradford Campeau-Laurion. When he tried to leave his seat during the traditional singing of God Bless America, however, he says he was stopped by a NYPD officer who said he’d have to wait until the song was done.

“I then said to him, ‘I don’t care about God Bless America. I just need to use the bathroom.’ As soon as I said that, he immediately pinned my arm behind my back,” Campeau-Laurion told CBS 2.

The 29-year-old says two officers pinned both of his arms behind his back and ejected him from the stadium.

“He shoved me out the front gate and told me get out of their country if I didn’t like it,” he said.

The NYPD: To serve and protect, and to thuggishly harass those who won’t submit to mindless religio-nationalism.

It’s times like this when I get a little patriotic myself – how great is it to live in a country where the national anthem is nothing more than an annoying tune that delays the start of the footy by a few minutes?

~ by Sammy Jankis on September 4, 2008.

One Response to “Yanked out of Yankee Stadium”

  1. Ah nationalism. The tune of brownshirts the world over.

Leave a Reply

 
